Roosevelt Road

Another shot on the rainy evening from the busy commercial quarter of Gongguang, this time with the view of Roosevelt Road.

Original size: 3833 x 2156 | Date taken: 10.11.2011 | Location: Roosevelt Road / Gongguang, Taipei, Taiwan

Comments and feedback are appreciated.

(Click on the photograph to see it in a larger size)

About j.t.l.

I’m a creative minded finnish fellow who is passionate about photography, making music, and traveling among many other things.

8 comments

  1. Both of your Gongguang photos are very nice. Are you shooting digital and if so, originally in b/w. Are you changing them in Photoshop?

    • I’m glad you like the photos.

      I’m shooting in digital, originally in colour, and do the b/w conversion in Photoshop. I choose to do it like this, because it allows me to evaluate if a photo works better in colour or b/w, and if I choose b/w I feel that still having the colour information gives me the greatest control in terms of the mood of the picture when I do the b/w conversion.

      • Thank you for sharing that. Good digital cameras and Photoshop software allows for so much more flexibility. I’m shooting in Raw and I find it gives me the opportunity to shoot quickly without worrying too much about settings. I then can correct them later. At some point it will become necessary to expand my knowledge of Photoshop.

        It appears that the Roosevelt Road photo was taken using a tripod. Do have the settings for this photo?

      • You’re welcome.
        Yes, I really enjoy the flexibility of digital photography.
        Oh, you shoot in Raw? It is the best format for post-processing, but I tend to use it only on special occasions (for example when I take infrared pictures), because the files take quite a lot more space.

        Actually I did not use a tripod for this picture. I have quite steady hands so sometimes I don’t need it.

        Yes, the settings are as follows…
        Aperture: 4.0
        Shutter speed: 1 second
        ISO: 200

      • Steady like a rock. Well done –

        I too only shot raw on special occasions – particularly when I was photographing my wife’s work. But there were too many times when I regretted not having shot using raw .Memory cards have gotten so cheap you can almost always shoot in raw. Also portable hard drives for storage are now so cheap as well. In fact, right now I’m shooting more in the combination of raw and jpg because my wife needs photos quickly for web publications and it is easier for her to use Preview on her Mac to change sizes and crop when necessary.

        What software are you using to embed your signature into your photo? Is it worth it?

      • Thanks!

        Yes, you’re right. Actually I forgot to mention that the other reason why I don’t use Raw that much is because it’s a bit slower to process. And if I take hundreds of photos sometimes then it would be quite time consuming to sort them out. Yes, the combination of raw and jpg is the best, then you have the best of both worlds…The adjustability and the easiness. I guess I should start to use that too, and after shooting just delete the Raw’s of the less successful shots.

        I’m using Photoshop for the signatures as well. Not worth it just for adding signatures, that’s for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

