En Route


A man heading somewhere on a rainy evening in downtown Taipei.

This is one of my favourite shots of all the numerous photographs I took during my time in Taipei. I don’t know if you see this photograph the way I do, but for me it has an ambience of decades ago. As if the man with the umbrella was some kind of detective in a film noir or something like that.

Original size: 3872 x 2592 | Date taken: 10.11.2011 | Location: Taipei, Taiwan

Comments and feedback are appreciated.

(Click on the photograph to see it in a larger size)

About j.t.l.

I’m a creative minded finnish fellow who is passionate about photography, making music, and traveling among many other things.

6 comments

  1. Nice mood and colours here. I could immediately hear the bikes splashing through the rain and zipping by.

  2. I can see why it’s one of your favourites, I mean all those vibrant colours, the city breathing with excitement and sounds…And yes, I see what you mean about the film noir atmosphere the man creates, it’s most definitely there! Great shot.

    • Thanks!
      I guess I was in the right place at the right time. Taipei was great for street photography, full of things to point your camera at. Although even if the almost non-stop raining did provide visually aesthetic things for photography, it was a bit tricky trying to take photos without getting my camera wet when there was no rain cover to hide under.

  3. I especially like the colour reflection on the wet pavement. Great shot!

Leave a Reply

