Lunar Eclipse

The lunar eclipse of yesterday was a very challenging subject, especially with my gear. Here is the best shot I was able to take. I had to use my Canon Powershot SX210IS for this, because I don’t have a proper zoom lens for my DSLR yet.

You can find another shot of the eclipse at my Flickr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/juhalappalainen/6490625963/

Original size: 2475 x 3712 | Date taken: 10.12.2011 | Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Comments and feedback are appreciated.

(Click on the photograph to see it in a larger size)

About j.t.l.

I’m a creative minded finnish fellow who is passionate about photography, making music, and traveling among many other things.

9 comments

  1. cool – that’s a great pic. I wish i could see it. Do you mind if I link to this on my blog (I will post tomorrow)? Thanks!

  2. Great – thanks! I’ll ping you when it’s up 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Met’s Secret Garden | Marina Chetner

  4. Wow, this is an incredible shot! And you said you did it with a Canon Powershot? Very impressive indeed. Btw, do you live permanently in Thailand, or are you just travelling through? Seems like such a beautiful and intriguing place…

    • Thanks!

      Yes, I pushed my Powershot to the limits. 😀 It has a 16x zoom which is great, but the picture quality is not the best in low-light conditions using all of the zoom.

      I guess I could say that live semi-permanently in Thailand. I will be here atleast for the next 2 years, and after that, time will tell. 🙂 Yes, Thailand is a most intriguing place indeed. A land of rich contrasts (rich/poor, modern/ancient, beautiful/ugly etc.). After living here for 2,5 years already, I could say that this is heaven and hell in one place. 😀

  5. MiNd,,*

    0.o Wow!!
    It’s totally different from my BlackBerry’s camera hahaha.
    It’s such a terrible phenomenon. There may have some werewolfs at that time, kidding hahaha.

    • Ha ha, mobile phones are quite useless in the dark, especially Blackberries. 😀
      Yes, the moon looked very cool even before the lunar eclipse yesterday evening. Like straight from a movie or something.

Leave a Reply

