Sungazing: a sunrise and a sunset in paradise (timelapse)

Here is a timelapse that I created from 1202 photos taken during sunrise and 832 photos taken during sunset at the beautiful island of Koh Wai.  I recommend watching it on Youtube and choosing the 1080p for Full HD quality. You can also see the video at Vimeo (note: 720p only, Full HD not available).

Getting these photographs took some effort, but the outcome is so nice that it was worth it. For the sunrise part I woke up at 5:15 AM, put my equipment in a dive bag, and headed out of my bungalow. I had decided to shoot the sunrise part from a wooden platform that’s in the sea in front of the beach. It felt quite strange going into the sea when it was still really dark. I didn’t need to swim to reach the platform, walking was sufficient as the water level only reached my chin at the deepest part. I took the first photograph at 5:32 and the 1202nd one at 7:13.

To shoot the sunset part I had to head through the jungle and over to the side of the island where you can see the sunset. It was so cool that one of the resort’s friendly big dogs decided to accompany me there while I trekked through the jungle, but after reaching the place it didn’t stay there for long. I took the first photo at 16:59 and the last one at 18:10. I’ve never stayed at the sunset side alone that late because the trek back to the resort through the dark jungle is scary, but this time I deemed it necessary to capture the entire sunset.

I’m very happy about how this one turned out!

About j.t.l.

I’m a creative minded finnish fellow who is passionate about photography, making music, and traveling among many other things.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Sunrise in Paradise « Juha Lappalainen photography

  2. Pingback: Sunrise in Paradise pt.II « Juha Lappalainen photography

  3. Pingback: Sunrise in Paradise pt.III « Juha Lappalainen photography

  4. Pingback: Rays of Light « Juha Lappalainen photography

  5. Pingback: The Setting Sun « Juha Lappalainen photography

  6. Pingback: Rays of Light in black and white « Juha Lappalainen photography

  7. Pingback: The Setting Sun pt.II « Juha Lappalainen photography

Leave a Reply

