Loy Krathong

Loy Krathong (Thai: ลอยกระท) is a festival celebrated annually in Thailand. People launch their krathong (usually a lotus-shaped container which floats on the water) on a river, canal or a pond, and make a wish as they do so. Some say that the festival originates from an ancient ritual of paying respect to the water spirits.

In the previous years I’ve been to see the celebrations at Benjasiri Park and Lumphini Park. This year I decided to go to Queen Sirikit Park, which turned out to be a very pretty place to see the festival. I decided not to take my DSLR along as I was having a headache and I was curious to see what results I could get with the Nokia 808 Pureview.

Here are a few shots I took while I was there:

f/2.4 1.6 sec | ISO 100

You can see the people sending off the krathong and the city in the background.


f/2.4 0.3 sec | ISO 1600

I wanted to see how the phone would handle an ISO of 1600. I’m very surprised about how good the outcome is! Sure there is some noise apparent in the photo, but for a phone using such a high ISO the result is very impressive.


f/2.4 1 sec | ISO 50

The park has some impressive fountains.


Date taken: 28.11.2012 | Location: Queen Sirikit Park, Bangkok, Thailand

Comments and feedback are appreciated.

(Click on the photograph to see it in a larger size)

About j.t.l.

I’m a creative minded finnish fellow who is passionate about photography, making music, and traveling among many other things.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

